Virginia residents age 16 and older are required to obtain a fishing license before fishing on the inland waters of this state.
Is a fishing license required in Virginia?
One of the most important items any person needs before they go fishing in Virginia is their fishing license. The state of Virginia requires both residents AND non-residents to obtain a fishing license. Virginia offers daily, short-term, annual or lifetime licenses.
Can you fish in Virginia without a license right now?
No fishing license of any kind will be required for recreational rod and reel fishing during free fishing days and facilities use permits will also not be required during these dates. To increase angling opportunities, the DGIF has removed the restriction to fishing designated stocked trout waters.
What is the fine for fishing without a license in Virginia?
Fishing, hunting or trapping without a license is a class 3 misdemeanor, punishable by up to $500 in fines. Often these are pre-payable offenses with fines less than $500. However, if you prepay you are pleading guilty to a criminal offense and it cannot be erased from your record.
Do you need a license to saltwater fish in VA?
The license is optional and individuals age 65 and older may still fish Virginia tidal waters for saltwater species without a license if desired, although they still must comply with annual FIP registration requirements if they have not purchased a license.
Do you need a fishing license on private property in Virginia?
Tenants, on the land they rent and occupy, are not required to have a license, but must have the written permission of the landowner. Guests fishing in individually owned private ponds. Nonresident children under 16 years of age (also do not need a trout license). … However, a saltwater fishing license is required.
How much is a fishing license in Virginia at Walmart?
Prices of Fishing Licenses in Walmart, Virginia (VA)
|Resident Freshwater/Saltwater fishing||$39.50|
|Non-resident freshwater fish||$30|
|Non-resident freshwater fish (5-day trip)||$6|
How much does a lifetime fishing license cost in Virginia?
2. A basic resident lifetime fishing license, to be obtained for a fee of $ 250. This license is valid for the lifetime of the license holder even if the license holder becomes a nonresident of the Commonwealth subsequent to the purchase of the license.
Can you use treble hooks in Virginia?
Virginia prohibits treble hooks in several trout streams, however they do consider a treble hook that had 2 of its hook points removed to be a “single-point hook.” Per Washington’s fishing regulations, “Single-point barbless hooks are required in areas designated as ‘fly fishing only’ or ‘selective gear rules. ‘”
Do veterans get free fishing license in Virginia?
The Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries offers a free lifetime hunting and fishing license, and a discounted saltwater license for Virginia resident veterans who are totally and permanently service- connected disabled.
Can you hunt on your own property without a license in VA?
Residents, 65 years of age and over, do not need a license to hunt or trap on private property in their county or city of residence. … Residents under the age of 16 are not required to have a license to trap when accompanied by any person 18 years of age or older who possesses a valid Virginia trapping license.
Can I hunt on my own land without a license in VA?
No license shall be required of landowners, their spouses, their children and grandchildren and the spouses of such children and grandchildren, or the landowner’s parents, resident or nonresident, to hunt, trap and fish within the boundaries of their own lands and inland waters or while within such boundaries or upon …
What fishing season is it in Virginia?
Fishing Regulations for Virginia Lake
|Panfish (bluegill, pumpkinseed, sunfish, crappie and yellow perch)||Open All Year|
|Largemouth bass and smallmouth bass||May 1, 2021 to March 6, 2022|
|Muskellunge and hybrids||May 1, 2021 to December 31, 2021|
|Northern pike||May 1, 2021 to March 6, 2022|
Does Walmart sell Virginia fishing license?
Virginia Fishing License at Walmart
Fishing-Freshwater, resident – $16.00. Freshwater fishing, resident, 1 year – $23.00. Freshwater fishing, resident, 2 years – $44.00. Fishing-Freshwater, resident, 3 years – $65.00.
Does a 12 year old need a fishing license in Virginia?
F. No license to fish, except for trout as provided in § 29.1-302.4 or subsection B of § 29.1-310, shall be required of nonresident persons under 12 years of age when accompanied by a person possessing a valid license to fish in Virginia. … No license to fish shall be required of legally blind persons.